Quick And Easy Spring Crochet For Your Wardrobe

cro hair clips 0315

These little hair clips might be just the thing you need to make an Easter outfit look complete and special.  And, best of all, you can color coordinate and work them up in a matter of minutes.  You can glue the cute little flowers on – or better yet, tie them to the hair clip and touch the knot with a tiny bit of Fray Check or nail polish.  I love this kind of clip for my very fine hair.  But, they will work just fine for anyone’s hair from tot to senior citizen.  Get the free pattern here.

cro spring headband 0315

Here’s another quick, lovely idea to finish off your new Spring outfit.  Not much could be easier!  If you don’t use the idea for a headband, you can adapt it for a pretty bracelet.  The color combinations here are perfect, but you can use whatever color combo that will complete your special outfit.  You’ll find the free pattern here.

SONY DSC

I can think of a bunch of ways to use these lovely blossoms from Planet June (free pattern).  The idea I like the best, and that I am most likely to use, is to work up a cluster of them to use as an applique to brighten up an older cardigan.  I’m not much of a shopper and tend to buy the same colors and silhouettes, so why bother?  I have a lot of pink, including a pink cardigan and a pink hoodie that I wear over and over.  A grouping of these pretty flowers and leaves would be perfect on either of those.  Further, I’d make them repositionable so I could wear them only when I wanted to and leave my plain cardigan or hoodie in tact.  Maybe you’re not a ‘pink person’ like I am.  Make them in red or orange or blue or lilac.  Sprinkle them around your cardigan or tee shirt to give it a fresh, updated look without making a permanent change.  You can make them repositionable by using Aleene’s Tack It Over And Over glue which can be found at Michael’s and other craft stores.  Follow the instructions carefully to create an applique that you can move from one garment to another or store for later use.

aleene's tack it glue 0315

I’m a huge fan of Aleene’s glues which are now owned by Duncan Enterprises and of Aleene and her children and grandchildren who are inspired crafters.  Aleene’s glues are the finest in the field, including her Tacky Glue which is a must have for all serious crafters.  Maybe I’ll write more about this at a later date.

So, now you have a few, fresh ideas of ways to use your crochet skills to brighten your new – or old – wardrobe.  These ideas work just fine for all ages.  I’d love to see how you use them, so please send me a picture if you use them like this or adapt them in some unique way.  That would be totally amazing!

Leave a Reply

