Want A Crochet Challenge?

cro ronnie depths afghan 0315

If you are interested in crocheting an afghan that looks truly challenging, this one is for you.  It’s not a free pattern, but I’ve seen this one in person, courtesy of one of the pattern testers, my friend Ronnie, and the afghan is a knock-out!

On the page where you can purchase the pattern, you can take a look at the variety of color options other crocheters have chosen.  That’s such a nice part of Ravelry.  I looked at all of them, including the two that Ronnie has posted there, and the colors in the one pictured here are totally outstanding.  My faves – and I’m not particularly a ‘blue’ person.  It’s Ronnie’s use of the black that makes the other colors pop.

Ronnie insists that this pattern is not truly challenging.  That it has a pattern repeat that is easy to memorize and that it moves along nicely.  I’m not completely buying that – especially since I’ve seen the thing in person.  But, if you are looking for a project that is either challenging or unique, this one is for you.  I’d love to see what color combinations others come up with.  The only comment I have on color choice is that the person who changed colors every row did not create nearly as much visual impact as the color repeats chosen by Ronnie.  And, due to the large-ish lengths of yarn required, it’s not a scrap project.  If you have scraps left over, you might be smart enough to use them the way Ronnie did her third iteration of this afghan.  I’ll post a pic of it when I get one.

2 thoughts on “Want A Crochet Challenge?

Leave a Reply

